Adding (non-employee) users to an individual account

Overview: 

Individual account holders have the ability to add multiple users to their IB account.  The account holder may wish to add a second user registered under their own name for the purpose of opening two TWS sessions simultaneously (one for normal access and the other for connecting via an API).  The account holder may also provide access to up to 5 (non-employee) individuals, such as a family members, pursuant to a Limited Power of Attorney agreement.  In addition, each of these individuals may also be provided with a second user access.

In each case, the additional user will be assigned a unique user name which is required for log in both to Account Management and the trading platform of choice.  Procedures for adding a (non-employee) individual user are outlined below (search KB1004 for procedures for adding a second user for an individual account holder).

Background: 

Procedures for adding a non-employee user are as follows: 

  1. Log into Account Management.
  2. Select the Settings and then Account Settings menu options.
  3. Click on the gear icon in the Users & Access Rights section.
  4. Click on the plus sign in the top right corner. You will be presented with the Add User page.
  5. The process of adding a user and assigning access rights is divided into several screens. When you complete each screen, click Continue to advance to the next screen. If you want to make changes to a previous screen, click Back.
    1. On the first screen, enter information about the user, including the username, password, name, relationship to the primary account holder and email address.
    2. On the next screen, select a user role, if you have saved any. User roles automatically apply a set of previously configured access rights to the new user. If you do this, you can skip any additional screens and continue to the review screen.
    3. Each screen that follows lets you give the new user rights to access a specific group of functions, organized to match the main menu of Account Management: User Settings, Trading, Reporting, Funding and Account Settings. On each screen, grant access to functions by clicking the box next to each one.
  6. The last screen in the process lets you review all of the information about the new user, including access rights. Rights that have been assigned to the new user are shown checked and in green; rights that have not been assigned to the new user are shown crossed out. Click Continue if everything is correct. Click Back to make changes.
  7. If you do not participate in the Secure Login System for two-factor authentication, you will receive an email with a confirmation number. Enter the confirmation number sent to you via email, then click Continue. If you have not received a confirmation number, click Request Confirmation Number to have a new confirmation number sent to your email address.
  8. Click OK to save the new user, which will appear in the Users panel on the Users & Access Rights screen and in the Users & Access Rights panel of the Account Settings screen.

 

IMPORTANT NOTES:

1. In accordance with market data vendor requirements, the primary user on the account will be assessed a separate market data subscription fee for each user account added. 

2. Account holders may delete a user account by clicking on the delete link next to the user name located within the Account Settings and then Users & Access Rights menu options.