How to transfer TWS settings from one computer to another

Overview: 

 This article applies to:

  • Platform(s): Windows, Mac, Linux
  • TWS Build(s): Build 936 and Above

 

Background: 

Store settings on server allows clients the ability to store their Trader Workstation (TWS) settings/configuration on Interactive Brokers (IB) servers and retrieve them at anytime from another computer. This feature allows you to transfer settings from the same user on two different machines, but not between different accounts/users.

 
'Store' Settings on Server:

To transfer settings from one computer to another for the same username you will need to enable the option Use/store settings on server:

1. On the computer which currently has your settings, log in with the Use/store settings on server option unchecked on the login window

 TWS Login Screen

 2. Once you are logged in, enable this function:

  • If you are using the Classic layout, navigate to Edit >> Global Configuration >> Lock and Exit and check the box Use store settings on server
  • If you are using the Mosaic layout navigate to File >> Global Configuration >> Lock and Exit and check the box Use store settings on server

 Global Configurations Window

3.  Select Apply and OK.

4. Click on File -> Save Settings.

5. To Exit the application navigate to File and Exit.

IMPORTANT NOTE: The above operation will only save one copy of the TWS settings on the server. The serve does not store any backup copies.

 

'Use' Settings on Server:

On any computer (on which you want to use the same settings as above): Login with the Use/store settings on server option checked on the login window. This will download the settings, which you previously saved on our server.

 TWS Login Screen

 

 

See KB2323 for instructions on how to restore TWS settings from external storage

See KB2320 for instructions on transferring settings from one user to another