How to transfer TWS settings from on user to another

Overview: 

This process allows the TWS settings from one user to be exported and then imported to another user.

This article applies to:

  • Platform(s): Windows, Mac, Linux
  • TWS Build(s): 936 or later

To transfer settings from one user to another:
 

1. Log into TWS with the user whose settings you would like to export:

  •  Navigate to 'File' and select 'Save Settings As'

       File -> Save Settings As      

  • In the 'Save Settings As...' window, select the drop down arrow and choose a directory/location where you want to save the settings file, example; 'Desktop'.      

      Select Desktop

  • Provide the file name of your choosing and click on Save

2. Log into TWS with the user in which you would like the settings imported:

  • Once logged into the second user Navigate to 'File' and select 'settings recovery' or 'Open settings file'File -> Settings Recovery
  • Select 'Custom' and click on 'Ok'                                                    
    Choose custom
  • In the 'Look in' field select the drop down arrow and navigate to the directory of the settings file you saved from the first account.
  • Select the settings file and click on 'Open'
  • Select 'Open without reporting problem'

 

See KB2323 for instructions on how to restore TWS settings from external storage

See KB2282 for instructions on how to transfer settings from one computer to another.

See KB3146 for instructions on how to overcome the "Download settings from server failed" error