Trading restrictions on EU securities for Russian/Belarusian nationals

In response to the escalating situation in Ukraine, the USA, UK, EU, and other governments have imposed sanctions on Russia and Belarus. These include sanctions by the EU prohibiting the sale or transfer of EU securities issued after April 12, 2022 to Russian or Belarusian nationals or those located in Russia or Belarus.

To address these EU sanctions, IBKR has restricted Russian and Belarusian nationals or residents, and entities located in Russia or Belarus from opening new positions (long or short) in EU securities. Inbound and outbound transfers in these financial instruments are also restricted.